Financial and Compliance

This section conducts financial and compliance audits of state departments, agencies, and institutions. A major responsibility of the financial and compliance section, shared with the performance and compliance section, is the Single Audit of the State of Tennessee. This audit covers the operations of the state as a whole and is conducted in accordance with Office of Management and Budget Circular A-133, "Audits of States, Local Governments, and Non-Profit Organizations." A significant part of this project is the audit of the Tennessee Comprehensive Annual Financial Report, which covers all the state's funds and account groups, including college and university funds.

A Single Audit of the state is performed each year. In addition to the Single Audit Report, separate audit reports are issued on the Office of the Treasurer and units of the government not subject to the control of the centralized accounting system such as state universities, the Tennessee State School Bond Authority, the Tennessee Local Development Authority, the Tennessee State Veterans' Homes Board, the Tennessee Housing Development Agency, and the Tennessee Education Lottery Corporation.

The separate audits of the departments, agencies, and institutions are not meant to serve as organization-wide audits as described in Office of Management and Budget Circular A-133. Many do, however, serve as segments of the organization-wide audit of the State of Tennessee; therefore, they include the necessary tests for compliance with applicable laws, regulations, contracts, and grant agreements and the required consideration of the internal control structure. Financial and compliance audits are conducted in accordance with generally accepted government auditing standards.

The financial and compliance group is managed by an assistant director and six audit managers.

Contact Information

Assistant Director
Ed Burr, CPA, CGFM Ed.Burr@cot.tn.gov
Managers
David Cook, CPA David.A.Cook@cot.tn.gov
Bob Hunter, CPA, CGFM Bob.Hunter@cot.tn.gov
Aaron Jewell, CPA, CGFM, CFE Aaron.Jewell@cot.tn.gov
Donna Jewell, CPA, CFE Donna.Jewell@cot.tn.gov
Derek Martin, CPA, CGFM, CFE Derek.Martin@cot.tn.gov
Robyn Probus, CPA, CGFM, CFE, CGMA Robyn.Probus@cot.tn.gov