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The IMPROVE Act, or the Improving Manufacturing, Public Roads and
Opportunities for a Vibrant Economy Act, was signed into law on April 26, The Comptroller’s Office has
2017. Also called the “2017 Tax Cut Act,” it has been described as the largest estimated the impact of these
tax cut in Tennessee history. The IMPROVE Act does four main things: changes using a range of fiscal

year 2017-18 revenue
estimates presented to the
State Funding Board by the
Tennessee Department of
Revenue, Fiscal Review
Committee staff, the Boyd
Center for Business and
Economic Research at the

1. Enhances existing revenue sources for the highway fund by
increasing fuel taxes and annual vehicle registration fees, and
identifies over 900 transportation projects to be paid for with the
increase;

2. Allows local governments to increase revenue for public
transit by levying surcharges on a variety of local taxes, such as the
sales tax, business tax, and rental car tax, after a local referendum;

3. Cuts three taxes, including the state sales tax on food, the Hall

income tax on investment income, and franchise and excise taxes on University of Tennessee, and
manufacturers; and East Tennessee State
b
4. Enhances property tax relief payments for low-income elderly University.

homeowners, low-income disabled homeowners, and service-disabled
veterans and their surviving spouses.

The IMPROVE Act increases fuel taxes and vehicle registration fees

Money for building and maintaining roads and bridges
comes from three main sources: state taxes on fuel,

A one-cent increase in fuel taxes results in including gasoline and diesel; motor vehicle registration
about . . . fees; and federal revenue. Fuel taxes and registration fees
are sometimes referred to as “user fees,” meaning that
users, or the people driving cars and trucks, pay for using
the roads.

What can one cent do?

+$34 million in gas tax revenue, or roughly:
+$21.1 million to the state highway fund;

+$8.6 million to counties; and
+$4.3 million to cities. The IMPROVE Act enhances taxes on fuel — phased in over

a period of three years — and increases annual registration
fees beginning July 1, 2017. While some of the increased
revenue goes to cities and counties, the state’s portion of
the new money goes to the highway fund and is intended to
fund 962 transportation projects identified in the act.

+$10.6 million in diesel tax revenue, or about:
+$7.8 million to the state highway fund;
+$1.9 million to counties; and
+$0.9 million to cities.



The IMPROVE Act increases the gas tax by é cents, phased in over three years

The gasoline tax is Tennessee’s main source of state transportation
@ FY 18 state impact funding: in fiscal year 2015-16, the gas tax alone accounted for 55
percent of all transportation-related revenue collected by the state.
+$83.5-84.8M The gas tax was set at 20 cents per gallon in 1989. Gas tax revenues
FY 18 local impac " increased during the 1990s with the new rate, but have been
9 relatively flat since the early 2000s, partly due to inflation and more
c¥> +$51.4-52.2M efficient vehicles consuming less fuel.

The IMPROVE Act increases the tax from 20 cents to 26 cents per
gallon by fiscal year 2019-20. The initial increase, beginning in fiscal
year 2017-18, increases the tax by 4 cents and is expected to generate between $134.8 and $137.0 million in
new money. Of that, the state highway fund will receive 61.9 percent, or about $83.5 to $84.8 million. Local
governments will receive between $51.4 and $52.2 million — $34.2 to $34.8 million for counties, and $17.1 to
$17.4 million for cities.

The tax increases another cent to 25 cents per gallon in fiscal year 2018-19. Assuming consumers buy roughly
the same amount of gas, the tax will generate an additional $202.2 to $205.5 million over the original 20-cent
rate by the time it is fully implemented in fiscal year 2019-20. In other words, the state will bring in between
$125.2 and $127.2 million, counties about $52 million, and cities about $26 million more that year than they
would have if the tax had remained at 20 cents per gallon. Cumulatively in those three years, the state will have
collected over half a billion dollars in additional revenue: $313 to $318 million for the state highway fund, $128
to $131 million for counties, and about $64.5 million for cities.

The IMPROVE Act increases the diesel tax by 10 cents over a period of three years

Under the IMPROVE Act, the diesel tax increases from its current 17
FY 18 state impact cents per gallon rate to 27 cents per gallon beginning in fiscal year
N 2019-20. The initial 4-cent increase will generate between $41.8 and
$30.8-31.5M $42.7 million in new revenue. Roughly $30.8 to $31.5 million, or 73.7
. percent, will go to the highway fund; about $7.3 to $7.5 million will
9 FY 18 local impact flow to counties, and $3.7 to $3.8 million to cities.
o

+$11.0-11.3M

By the time the 10-cent increase is fully phased in, the diesel tax will
generate anywhere between $104.6 million and $106.8 million over
its original 17-cent rate — about $77.1 to $78.7 million for the highway
fund, $18.3 to $18.7 million for counties, and $9.2 to $9.4 million for cities. Cumulatively, the state highway
fund will receive $161.9 to $165.3 in additional funding, along with $38.4 and $39.2 million for counties and
$19.3 to $19.7 million for cities.

The IMPROVE Act increases taxes on liquified gas and compressed natural gas by 8 cents,
phased in over three years

Taxes on liquified gas — propane and butane — and compressed natural gas used for fuel will both increase 8
cents over three years: propane from 14 to 22 cents per gallon, and compressed natural gas from 13 to 21 cents
per gallon.2 Neither propane nor compressed natural gas are a significant source of revenue; in fiscal year
2015-16, they generated about $97,000 and $1.4 million, respectively. Because of low propane collections and

A Although not specifically mentioned in statute, the Department of Revenue taxes liquified natural gas at the same rate as
compressed natural gas (currently 13 cents per gallon, and increasing to 21 cents per gallon).




volatile natural gas revenues, the Comptroller’s Office did not attempt to estimate the increased collections
from increasing the tax rate.

Fiscal Review cited an increase of $21,429 in fiscal year 2017-18, $35,714 in fiscal year 2018-29, and $57,143 in
fiscal year 2019-20 for propane; compressed natural gas collections were projected to increase by $319,385,

$532,308, and $851,602 in the same years. Although current revenues from both of these taxes are shared with
local governments, increases under the IMPROVE Act are not shared and go entirely to the state highway fund.

Changes in fuel taxes by year
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The IMPROVE Act increases vehicle registration fees by $5, $10, or $20 depending on

vehicle type

Tennessee has three main tiers of vehicle registrations: private

vehicles, including motorcycles, cars, and trailers; private or

FY 18 state impact commercial vehicles that transport passengers, such as buses or vans;
+$34.1M and freight vehicles.

N/A registration fee for all three tiers. Altogether, the change in fees for
vehicle registrations will generate roughly $34.1 million in state
money each year.B All of the resulting money goes into the state
highway fund, but local governments can and do impose additional
local fees, though such local fees may not go toward transportation. Fees increase across the board from $5 to
$20, depending on the type of vehicle:

9 FY 18 local impact Beginning July 1, 2017, the IMPROVE Act increases the annual
O

¢ Private vehicle fees increase by $5, and will generate an additional $26.1 million for the
highway fund based on Department of Revenue data, assuming the number of such

B All registered freight vehicles except for logging trucks and trucks that transport farm products directly from farms to
market are subject to an additional 2.5 percent safety inspection fee. This money goes to the Department of Safety’s motor
vehicle account, rather than the state highway fund. The Department of Revenue estimates that 282,000 vehicles are
subject to this fee — the 2.5 percent fee, applied to the $20 registration fee increase in the IMPROVE Act, will generate an
additional $141,000 for the motor vehicle account.
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vehicles remains stable. The new rate varies depending on the type of vehicle — trailer registrations,
for example, increase from $9.50 to $14.50, while fees for private buses increase from $200 to $205.

¢ Fees for private and commerecial vehicles transporting passengers increase by $10 and
will bring in an estimated $51,600 in additional recurring revenue. Such fees are based on
the number of seats in the vehicle. On the low end, the fee for a bus or van with fewer than seven seats
increases from $37.13 to $47.13; fees for buses with more than 35 seats increase from $317.63 to
$327.63.

¢ Registration fees for freight vehicles increase by $20 each and will increase revenue by
$7.7 million. Freight fees are determined by weight. For example, the fee for a truck with a maximum
gross weight under 9,000 pounds increases from $48.50 to $68.50; the fee for a semi truck with a
maximum weight up to 80,000 pounds changes from $1,332.50 to $1,352.50.

In addition, the IMPROVE Act creates a $100 registration fee for electric cars. Currently, while electric cars
must be registered as private vehicles — $18.75 currently and increasing to $23.75 under the act — they do not
use gas and do not pay fuel taxes. Compared with the new gas tax rate of 26 cents per gallon, the $100
registration fee is equal to the gas tax revenue generated from about 385 gallons of gas. Taking the average fuel
efficiency of 23.9 miles per gallon for light-duty vehicles in 2015, the annual $100 fee is equivalent to the
revenue from driving about 9,200 miles a year, less than the 11,600 miles driven per capita in Tennessee in
2015. In other words, even with the new $100 fee, electric cars may not pay the same share for using the roads
as their gas-fueled counterparts. The Department of Revenue estimates there are approximately 2,500 electric
cars in the state, which will bring in about $250,000 from the new registration fee.

How are increased gas and diesel revenues shared with local governments?

Tennessee law requires that portions of current fuel tax revenues from gasoline, diesel, propane, and
compressed natural gas are shared with local governments. Additionally, a small percentage of those
revenues goes to the state general fund.

The IMPROVE Act specifies that increases in gas and diesel tax revenues will also be shared with
local governments; new money from propane and compressed natural gas taxes will not.
Furthermore, none of the additional money will go to the state general fund. The majority of
increased gas tax revenues, or 61.9 percent, goes to the state highway fund. Another 25.4 percent is
distributed to counties, and the remaining 2.7 percent is passed to cities. Similarly, most of the
increased diesel tax revenue — 73.7 percent — goes to the state highway fund, while 17.5 percent is
given to counties and the final 8.8 percent goes to cities.

State law sets formulas for sharing these funds among local governments:

=  Of the 25.4 percent of increased gas tax revenue and |7.5 percent of increased diesel tax
revenue given to counties:
o 50 percent is shared evenly between all 95 counties;
o 25 percent is distributed based on area; and
o The remaining 25 percent is distributed based on population.
= The entirety of increased gas and diesel tax revenues given to cities — 12.7 and 8.8 percent,
respectively — is distributed based on population.




Local funding options for public transportation

The IMPROVE Act completely repeals Tennessee Code Annotated Title 67, Chapter 3, Part 10, which allowed
counties and cities to levy an additional one cent per gallon tax on gasoline following a local referendum. Money from
the additional local tax had to be used for public transportation services. No local government had used the
authority.

The IMPROVE Act creates additional local funding options for public transit. Currently, local governments may levy a
variety of local taxes, including the local option sales tax, city business taxes on retailers and wholesalers, and hotel-
motel taxes. Maximum rates for these taxes are capped in law, however, and may have statutory earmarks for the
resulting revenue, potentially limiting a local government’s ability to increase revenues for certain types of programs.

For example, if a county’s local option sales tax rate is set at 2.50 percent, the county cannot increase the rate
beyond an additional 0.25 percent because of the statutory maximum of 2.75 percent. By law, half of all local option
sales tax revenue must go toward education; accordingly, a county that increases the tax by 0.25 percent must
dedicate another 0.125 percent of revenue to education, with the remaining 0.125 percent of the total rate available
to spend at its discretion. Thus, the county may have limited ability to bring in new revenue for certain programs.

The IMPROVE Act allows local governments an option to generate new revenue specifically for public transit
programs. Following a local referendum, counties with populations over 112,000 and cities with more than 165,000
people may levy a surcharge on top of several current local taxes, including the sales tax, business tax, motor vehicle
tax, and rental car tax. The surcharge is collected in addition to current local tax revenues. For example, a county
could collect an additional 2.75 percent on sales on top of the underlying sales tax rate — in total, consumers could
pay up to 5.50 percent on their purchases in local taxes, and up to 12.50 percent when including the state sales tax
rate. The IMPROVE Act also outlines parameters and maximum rates for the surcharges (e.g., motor vehicle taxes
and surcharges combined cannot exceed $200).

Based on current population estimates, |2 counties are eligible to use this option: Shelby, Davidson, Knox, Hamilton,
Rutherford, Williamson, Montgomery, Sumner, Sullivan, Wilson, Blount, and Washington. The four largest cities —
Memphis, Nashville, Knoxville, and Chattanooga — may also potentially do so at the municipal level.




In its final form, the IMPROVE Act . ..

Enhances existing revenue sources for the highway
fund by increasing fuel taxes and annual vehicle
registration fees, and identifies 962 transportation
projects to be paid for with the new money.

o =)
FY 18 state revenue gasoline tax diesel tax

$148.8-150.8 6 cents per gallon, 10 cents per gallon,
million fully phased in FY 20 fully phased in FY 20

FY 18 local revenue b Q

2.4-03. . g
§16illi?)n63 4 liquified and compressed vehicle registration fees
natural gas taxes $5, $10. or $20 based

8 cents per gallon, on type; new $100 fee
Transportation fully phased in FY 20 for electric cars

Projects

P 5

962 2032 $10.5 billion
projects identified in all projects scheduled to total estimated cost of
the act be under contract completion

A A -

95 1,300 689
counties with miles of roadwork bridge projects
identified projects




FY 18 state revenue

mm $247.1-258.7
million

FY 18 local revenue

O $21.6-28.2
million

FY 18 state
expenditures

+ $7.5 million

FY 18 local revenue

N/A

Cuts three different taxes, including the sales
tax on groceries, the Hall income tax on
investment income, and franchise and excise

taxes on manufacturers.
.‘

state sales tax Hall income tax

on food 1 percent per year until
o 1 percent fully repealed in 2021

franchise and excise taxes

Qg triple-weighted sales to single

sales factor for manufacturers

Enhances property tax relief payments for
low-income elderly and disabled homeowners,
and service-disabled veterans and their
surviving spouses.

6 5... low-income elderly and disabled
homeowners

~ o $3,500 maximum home value

(','\ eligible for relief; indexed to
inflation

service-disabled veterans and

surviving spouses
* $75,000 maximum home value

eligible for relief




The IMPROVE Act cuts three types of taxes

The IMPROVE Act cuts the state sales tax on food and gradually phases out the Hall income tax until its
complete repeal. The new law also offers manufacturers an option that could potentially reduce their franchise
and excise tax burden.

The IMPROVE Act cuts the state sales tax on food from 5 to 4 percent

The majority of goods sold in Tennessee are taxed at 7 percent at the
@ FY 18 state impact state level, and local governments have the option to levy a local sales
tax up to 2.75 percent. “Food and food ingredients for human

-$118.5-119.2M consumption,” or groceries, however, are taxed at a lower state rate,
although they are still subject to up to a 2.75 percent tax at the local
9 level. In 2002, the state rate was set at 6 percent; it was reduced to
<> -$5.7-5.8M 5.5 percent in 2007, 5.25 percent in 2012, and 5 percent, its current
rate, in 2013.

FY 18 local impact

The IMPROVE Act further
cuts the tax on food from 5 percent to 4 percent. Based on revenue Where does state revenue
projections for fiscal year 2018-19, taxpayers will save between $124.2 from food sales go?
to $124.9 million in total. State revenues will decrease by about $118.5
to $119.2 million. In addition to the local option sales tax, the state Revenue from 0.5 percent of the
shares a small portion of state revenues with local governments; based sales tax rate goes toward K-12
on the reduction in the state rate, revenue shared with local education, or the BEP. The
governments will decrease by about $5.7 million.€ Although local remaining revenue is divided up as

governments are not held harmless for the loss of state-shared revenue,  follows:
the IMPROVE Act does not affect their ability to levy a local option tax

. = 29.0141 percent to the
up to 2.75 percent on groceries.

general fund;

The IMPROVE Act reduces the Hall income tax | percentage * 65.0970 percent to the
point each year until full repeal in 2021 education fund;
= 46030 percent to local
While Tennessee does not governments;
FY 18 state impact have a g(?nera_l income tax, the = 0.3674 percent to the
-$26.4-37.4M Hall tax1s 1?W6d on. ] Department of Revenue for
’ ’ E}V?gtmgn; lncome,linclu((iilng administrative purposes; and
. ividends from stocks an .
9 FY 18 local impact interest on bonds. In 2016, the Se?.\l,ise I:j,:;fant o the debe
cY>S -$15.9-22.4M Hall tax was reduced from 6

percent to 5 percent, and the

legislature expressed an intent to continue cutting the rate in future
years. The IMPROVE Act puts the phaseout schedule in law, and reduces the rate 1 percent each year so that
the tax will be completely repealed beginning January 1, 2021.

Based on projected collections for fiscal year 2017-18, a 1 percent cut in the Hall tax will save taxpayers between
$42.3 and $59.8 million. Statutory formulas set the local share at 3/8, or 37.5 percent, of total revenue, with

€ One percent of the 4.603 percent of state sales tax revenues shared with local governments is given to the Municipal
Technical Advisory Service (MTAS) at the University of Tennessee. In conjunction with the reduction of state-shared sales
tax revenue, annual MTAS funding will decrease by approximately $57,000.




the state receiving 5/8, or 62.5 percent. Thus, for every 1 percent cut in the Hall tax, city and county revenue
will decrease between $15.9 and $22.4 million; state revenue will decrease by $26.4 to $37.4 million.

In 2021 when the tax is fully repealed, taxpayers will save between $132.2 and $186.9 million in the state’s
share of Hall tax payments that would have been collected if the tax had remained at 5 percent.
Correspondingly, local revenue will decrease by $79.3 to $112.1 million. Cumulatively over the six-year
phaseout, this amounts to between $396.7 and $560.6 million in decreased state revenue, and $238.0 and
$336.4 million in decreased local revenue.

The IMPROVE Act offers manufacturers an alternative calculation for franchise and excise taxes

Manufacturing is one of Tennessee’s biggest industries — according to
FY 18 state impact the Department of Economic and Community Development, the
percentage of Tennessee manufacturing workers is 1.38 times greater

-$102.1M than the national average. The IMPROVE Act attempts to make
This figure is provided by the Department Tenness.ee more attractive to m.anufactu.rers by off(?ring them an
of Revenue. Due to the difficulty of alternative way to calculate their franchise and excise taxes and
estimating franchise and excise taxes, the potentially reduce their tax burden.

C troller’s Offi t id . . . .
omptrofiers lce cannot provide an Franchise and excise, while technically two separate taxes, are both

levied on the privilege of doing business in Tennessee. The franchise
tax is based on a business’s net worth, and the excise tax depends on
income. The calculation of tax is relatively straightforward in theory
for entities that do business entirely in Tennessee, but becomes more complicated for multi-state businesses.
Multi-state businesses are subject to tax on a portion, rather than the entirety, of their net worth and net
earnings. Net worth and net earnings are multiplied by a fraction
based on property, payroll, and sales — for tax years beginning on
or after July 1, 2016, the sales factor is now weighted three times as
heavily as the others (a “triple-weighted sales factor”).

independent estimate.

Other recent changes in franchise
and excise taxes

In 2015, the General Assembly passed the
“Revenue Modernization Act,” which
addressed franchise and excise taxes.
Among other things, it created new
guidelines for taxing out-of-state
businesses that have no physical presence
in the state. Previously, although such
businesses earned revenue from
Tennessee customers (through online
purchases, for example), they did not pay
Tennessee taxes.

For manufacturers — defined as companies that make more than
50 percent of their Tennessee revenue from manufacturing — the
IMPROVE Act creates an option to use a different apportionment
ratio for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2017. Rather
than taking into account property, payroll, and sales, the new ratio
includes sales only: total receipts from Tennessee divided by total
receipts. That is, if 55 percent of the manufacturer’s sales are made
in Tennessee, 55 percent of its net worth and net earnings will be
subject to franchise and excise taxes. In many cases, manufacturers
may have a substantial amount of property and payroll in
Tennessee, but may make many sales out of state. Consequently,
eliminating the property and payroll factor and only taking into
account Tennessee sales may reduce their franchise and excise tax
burden, as Tennessee receipts may make up a relatively small
portion of their total sales.

The act also changed the apportionment
ratio for net worth and net earnings from
a double-weighted to triple-weighted sales
factor. By reducing the weight of the

Franchise and excise collections are volatile; additionally, the other two factors, property and payroll,
Department of Revenue cannot conclusively determine the number  the act intended to encourage businesses
of manufacturers who will use the alternative calculation until to physically relocate to Tennessee by

businesses file their tax returns and elect to use the new option. As potentially reducing their tax burden.




a result, the Comptroller’s Office cannot estimate the potential impact of the IMPROVE Act’s changes to
franchise and excise taxes. The Department of Revenue projects that revenue will decrease by $102,122,000 in

fiscal year 2017-18 and $113,300,000 in fiscal year 2018-19 and beyond.

The IMPROVE Act enhances property tax relief payments for elderly, disabled,

and service-disabled veteran homeowners

FY 18 state impact

+$7.5M state

expenditures boundary.

FY 18 local impact
N/A

LA

Local governments, rather than the state, impose property taxes. All
95 counties set a county tax rate; other entities — such as a city, a
special school district, or a fire district — may levy property taxes in
addition to the county rate for properties within that specific

The state constitution provides for property tax relief for certain
elderly and disabled homeowners who meet income requirements, as
well as certain service-disabled veterans and their surviving spouses.
Property tax relief reduces the homeowner’s property tax bill because

the state, rather than the homeowner, pays all or a portion of the tax
to the local government. As such, local revenue is not affected by changes in property tax relief eligibility

requirements.

In tax year 2016, homeowners age 65 or older or those with qualifying
disabilities were eligible for property tax relief on the first $23,500 of
market value of their homes, so long as total qualifying income was no
more than $29,180. There is no income limit for disabled veterans or
their surviving spouses, and property tax relief applied to the first
$100,000 of market value of their homes that same year.

The IMPROVE Act increases value limits for all three categories of
property tax relief. The value limits for elderly and disabled
homeowners increase from $23,500 to $27,000 beginning in tax year
2017, and veterans from $100,000 to $175,000. The act also ties this
value figure for elderly and disabled homeowners to the Consumer Price
Index, so that the limits may be adjusted by up to 3 percent each year
for inflation.

Based on projected enrollment, the Comptroller’s Office estimates that
state expenditures for property tax relief will increase $7.5 million: $2.7
million for elderly and disabled homeowners, and $4.8 million for
service-disabled veterans and their surviving spouses.

Who gets property tax relief?

In fiscal year 2015-16, the state
spent about $25.5 million on
property tax relief payments for
nearly 104,000 people. The majority
of recipients, or almost 92,000, were
elderly or disabled. Roughly 12,000
recipients were service-disabled
veterans or surviving spouses.

Although property tax rates and bills
vary widely from county to county,
the average payment to elderly and
disabled recipients was $137; the
average for veterans was $536.

Low-income elderly Income limit $29,180 $29,180

(65+) and disabled Maximum market value for $23,500 $27,000, indexed in
which tax relief is paid future years

Disabled veterans/ Income limit none none

surviving spouse Maximum market value for $100,000 $175,000
which tax relief is paid
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How it works...

What does the IMPROVE Act do? —ﬁ Enhances taxes on fuel and

vehicle registration

©
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Also known as the "2017 Tax Cut Act."

Combines general fund tax cuts with highway
fund revenue enhancements.

Enhances existing revenue sources for the
highway fund for over goo road projects by
increasing fuel taxes and annual vehicle
registration fees.

Cuts three different taxes, including the sales tax
on groceries, the Hall tax, and franchise and
excise taxes.

Enhances property tax relief payments for low-
income elderly and disabled homeowners and
service-disabled veterans and their surviving
spouses.

Includes an option for 16 local governments to
levy a surcharge on certain taxes to enhance
public transportation funding.

Fiscal Impact... ()

N

What to expect for FY17-18

<

<

The gas tax increase in FY17-18 is expected to
generate between $83.5 and $84.8 million for the
state and $51.4 and $52.2 million for localities.

The diesel tax increase in FY17-18 is expected to
generate between $30.8 and $31.5 million for the
state and $11.0 and $11.3 million for localities.

New vehicle registration fees are expected to
generate $34.1 million in state revenues for FY17-
18.

The reduction in the state sales tax is expected to
result in a $118.5 to $119.2 million decrease in state
revenues and $5.7 to $5.8 million decrease in local
revenues.

The reduction in the Hall income tax for FY17-18 is
estimated to result in a $26.4 to $37.4 million
decrease in state revenues and $15.9 and $22.4
million decrease in local revenues.

The reduction in the F&E taxes are estimated to
result in a $102.1 million decrease in state
revenues.

Raises the gas tax by 6 cents, fromits 20 cent
rate per gallon to 26 cents by fiscal year
2019-20.

Raises the diesel tax by 10 cents, from its 17
cent rate per gallon to 27 cents by FY19-20.

Increases vehicle fees on Classes (A) through
(H) by $5; commercial vehicles by $10; freight
vehicles by $20; and creates a $100
registration fee for electric cars.

©
©
©

Changes to less significant sources of revenue...

Raises taxes on liquified gas by 8 cents per
gallon, from 14 to 22 cents per gallon in
FY19-20.

Raises taxes on compressed natural gas, from
13 to 21 cents per gallon in FY19-20

© ©

Construction...
Overview of the projects

identified by TDOT

©

TDOT has identified 962 total projects,
spanning 1,300 miles with an estimated cost of
$10.5 billion for completion.

Every county in Tennessee has at least one
project identified by TDOT, either backlogged
or requiring construction.

Of the g62 total projects, 526 are identified as
local bridges and 163 are identified as state
bridges.

According to TDOT's 3-Year Plan, 62 projects
of the 962 are slated to take place in FY18.
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Contact Information

Justin P. Wilson
Comptroller of the Treasury

Jason Mumpower
Chief of Staff

Comptroller of the Treasury
State Capitol
Nashville, Tennessee 37243
(615) 741-2501
www.comptroller.tn.gov

To report fraud, waste, or abuse of government funds and
property, contact the Comptroller’s toll-free hotline at
1-800-232-5454 or www.comptroller.tn.gov/hotline.
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