At-A-Glance: State Special Schools

There are four state special schools in Tennessee:

Tennessee School for the Blind

-located in Nashville -provides residential and educational programs for students -grades pre-K through 12

Tennessee School for the Deaf

-located in Knoxville -provides residential and educational programs for students -grades pre-K through 12

West Tennessee School for the Deaf

-located in Jackson -provides educational programs for students -ages two through 13

Alvin C. York Agricultural Institute

-located in Jamestown -a public school operated by the state -grades 9 through 12



Programs offered at the schools for the blind and deaf include academic instruction, self-care skills, counseling, pre-vocational training, child health and safety, independent living skills, consultation services to local school districts, and diagnosis and identification of learning problems.



State law does not designate the special schools as part of any school district, instead giving the State Board of Education (SBE) the responsibility to control the state's four special schools.

The state special schools are almost entirely state-funded. SBE approves the budgets for the schools before they are submitted to the Governor and the Department of Finance and Administration for approval and transmission to the General Assembly.

This infographic is one in a series of infographics explaining education terminology. For definitions of over 200 education terms, please visit: http://www.comptroller.tn.gov/OREA/Glossary