Skip to Main Content

Mapping Tennessee Education

Map of Tennessee

Welcome to OREA’s Mapping Tennessee Education. This portal provides education data on schools and school districts for the 2016-17 school year. Multiple maps allow users to view the data in a variety of ways, by:

  • all schools and districts, overlaid with legislative districts, both Senate and House,
  • per-pupil expenditures by school district,
  • revenues by district,
  • type of school district, and
  • private schools, overlaid with legislative districts, both Senate and House.

All the maps are interactive – zoom in, zoom out – and searchable by legislator, school district, and school. OREA updates the maps each year with the latest data from the Tennessee Department of Education.

Click on the link below to open the Mapping Tennessee Education application. Summaries and legends are included to the left of each map and include links to additional OREA resources, including our Defining Tennessee Education Glossary and BEP Calculator.

Data provided to OREA by the Tennessee Department of Education. The schools displayed in the Senate and House maps reflect active public schools as of the 2017-18 school year as entered in TDOE's School Directory as of November 2017. The demographic and achievement data tied to each school district and school reflects the 2016-17 school year as shown in TDOE's Profile Data Files for 2016-17. Private schools reflect those schools registered as active nonpublic school listed with TDOE as of October 2017. 

For any questions regarding how to use the mapping application or the data contained with the maps, please contact OREA -