Skip to Main Content

About Us

The Office of the Tennessee Comptroller of the Treasury has one mission: make government work better.

The Comptroller’s Office is responsible for the audit of state and local governmental entities and participates in the general financial and administrative management and oversight of Tennessee state government.

The Office is led by Tennessee's 35th Comptroller, Jason E. Mumpower, who is a Constitutional Officer elected by the Tennessee General Assembly. Comptroller Mumpower is currently serving his second term. 

The Comptroller’s Office is comprised of 12 divisions with more than 600 employees. In addition to our main office in Nashville, we have field offices in six cities across the state. The Comptroller of the Treasury, or a designee, serves as a member of over 35 state government committees, boards, and commissions, and staffs several boards, including the State Funding Board and the Tennessee Board of Utility Regulation. 

The Comptroller or his designee serves as a member of the following Boards and Commissions:

  • K-12 Mental Health Endowment Fund
  • Advisory Council on State Procurement
  • Basic Education Program Review Committee
  • Board of Claims
  • Chairs of Excellence Endowment Fund
  • Convention Center Authority of the Metropolitan Government of Nashville & Davidson County
  • Council on Children’s Mental Health
  • Council on Pension and Insurance
  • Economic and Community Development Building Finance Committee
  • Emergency Communications Board
  • Health Facilities Commission
  • Information Systems Council
  • Local Education Insurance Committee
  • Local Government Corporation
  • Local Government Insurance Committee
  • Ocoee River Recreation and Economic Development Fund
  • Procurement Commission
  • Public Records Commission
  • State Board of Equalization
  • State Building Commission
  • State Capitol Commission
  • State Employee Pension Stabilization Reserve Trust
  • State Funding Board
  • State Insurance Committee
  • Teacher Legacy Pension Stabilization Trust
  • Tennessee Advisory Commission on Intergovernmental Relations
  • Tennessee Board of Utility Regulation
  • Tennessee College Savings Trust
  • Tennessee Consolidated Retirement System, Board of Trustees
  • Tennessee Higher Education Commission
  • Tennessee Highway Officials Certification Board
  • Tennessee Housing Development Agency
  • Tennessee Interagency Cash Flow Committee
  • Tennessee Local Development Authority
  • Tennessee Promise Scholarship Endowment Fund
  • Tennessee State School Bond Authority
  • Tennessee Student Assistance Corporation
  • TRICOR Board Certification Committee
  • Tuition Guaranty Fund Board